Employer Sponsored Visas

The Australian government continues to favour visa applicants who are sponsored by employers. Under the new processing regime applicants with formal job offers from approved sponsors will receive priority treatment.

Independent skilled migration will still be available but will be limited to a narrower range of occupations and to applicants who can meet a more rigorous set of selection criteria

  • Employer Nomination Scheme (ENS)
  • This scheme enables employers to recruit skilled workers from overseas, or from people already in Australia on temporary visas. Employers must be approved and must provide full time employment for at least 2 years. Candidates must have an occupation that is listed on the Consolidated Skilled Occupation List and have the necessary qualifications and work experience.
  • Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS)
  • This scheme is similar to ENS and allows employers in regional areas of Australia to sponsor skilled workers from overseas, or in Australia on temporary visas, to fill skilled vacancies. Under RSMS, contracts need only be for 2 years. It is also worth noting that for the purposes of RSMS visa applications Perth has now been listed as regional. It joins Adelaide and Canberra as well as many other parts of Australia. Applicants for RSMS visas now receive the highest priority processing.
  • SkillSelect
  • SkillSelect was introduced on 1 July 2012 and brought about some fundamental changes to the way people seek to migrate to Australia. It is intended, largely, for those people who wish to apply as independent migrants or who have been nominated by an Australian state or territory. Rather than applying directly for a skilled migration visa, applicants will instead first record their details through an online Expression of Interest (EOI). Applicants will also need to have undertaken a formal skills assessment by the relevant professional body before finalising an EOI. The EOI will be ranked according to a points test where points are awarded for age, English language ability, qualifications, experience and a number of other criteria. The threshold score to be considered is 60 points but it is more likely that candidates will need 65+ points if they are likely to receive an invitation to apply for a permanent visa. Further information is available from the Department of Immigration and Citizenship at www.immi.gov.au/skills/skillselect

Click here to make an enquiry.

Skilled Migration

IMSVISA Services: Australian visa application advice and support newsletter

Stay informed with our latest news!

Syndicate content